Top 3

3. Fish-ish
So, I meant to post this a few weeks ago when I decided to go out and purchase some fish! I had googled “small pets” and obviously some crazy animals came up that I had never even heard of, but I went for the less interesting route and chose fish. I found all these articles about how calming they are, blah blah blah. Hey, who couldn’t use a nice calming pet that requires *LITTLE* maintenance? So I up and went to my local PetSmart and harassed one of the workers into spending an hour with me to explain how to care for fish. Yeah, not so easy to own fish, but I overestimated my dedication and purchased 4 fish and a massive tank. For the next 3 hours I half-assed setting up the tank with semi-distilled water and skimming through the information packets. Pssh, I got this.
The first few days were filled with joy. I fed my four lovely fish, named them and stared at them for minutes on end. What a great purchase! Unfortunately those were the only days filled with excitement. About 10 days into owning my little buddies, I woke up to a very odd sight. I found one fish dead (poor little Flower) and three new fish. I was living in a Dr. Seuss book. I guess it’s true that with death comes birth, or whatever that saying is.
So etcetera, etcetera, days go by and the tank gets dirtier because I don’t know how to clean it, especially with three baby fish swimming around. So we come to yesterday. At this point I had lost two fish, but still had five, which was still more than what I started with. Go me. I finally decided that I needed to clean the tank because one of the fish was on it’s death bed and I wanted to be it’s Guardian Angel. Instead I became the Grim Reaper. Oops. Again, I half-assed cleaneing the tank with semi-distilled water and hoped for the best. I got the worst. Within the hour of me scooping out the water and putting the new water in, I had killed all five fish. All of them. Every single one. My Dr. Seuss book came to a sad and scary end, not suitable for children.
Basically, owning fish sucks unless you have dedication or can hire someone to do all the work for you. The little bit of relaxation I experienced was NOT worth the pain and stress of knowing that I had to eventually clean the tank (aka kill everything). On the plus side, I now have a 10-gallon tank that I can use as another way to clutter my room.

2. Spring is Springing
handsSpring has not “officially” sprung, but it’s in the air; it’s coming.  Apparently Mother Nature didn’t get the note that spring was supposed to start on March 20 because we were granted two more days of debilitating snow. It’s like winter would never end. But this morning when I checked the weather I was given hope that it WAS going to end. The next week shows temperatures in the high 50’s and 60’s and compared to what we’ve had, that is extremely warm! Joy to the Northeast! I am SO beyond excited to whip out my tees and open-toed pumps and tuck away my disgusting winter coat and wool scarves. I’ll most definitely do a post on my new spring favorites and it will be obnoxiously long. While summer is my absolute favorite season because of the heat and going to the beach, the fall and spring will always be my favorite in terms of fashion. Nothing is better than jeans and a tee. I’m too excited.

1. Being Active

I’ve decided that with the new weather coming, I want to start getting outside more. I tend to be a slight homebody, especially in the winter (aka I don’t leave my house. Ever.) and I really think that needs to change. Honestly, I’m 23. I need to get the hell out of the house. It’s borderline embarrassing. Enter my main problem: what am I going to do? I’ve come up with a few ideas, some more realistic than others (I need to stop thinking that I’m going to go for a run) and I’m excited to try some of them out. I’m excited most about attempting to hike. In my mind, hiking means following a well-defined trail in the woods of my local park. I feel like that’s baby-hiking. I need like, adolescent-hiking. Note that I 100% have no idea how I’m going to go about this. I’ll probably get back into my baby-hiking and try to progress from there. We’ll see. This could just be another thing that I start and end within a week. Hopefully not, but only time will tell. I have my fingers crossed that I’ll come across someone that is an obsessed hiker that will help me become a little more coordinated and knowledgable about how to not twist my ankle the second I step onto an uneven surface.

Comment here!

