Golden Globes 2014

Unfortunately, the Golden Globes were on this past Sunday, which was when I came home from a weekend in Philadelphia with my girlfriends, i.e., I was passed out in my bed from 5-11pm. However, I obviously watched all the coverage of the fashion on the red carpet in order to see the best and worst dressed. I also read a billion buzzfeed articles about the hilarious moments, awkward speeches, and anything/everything J.Law did (apparently “Lawrencing” is a thing now?). So I think that I got a pretty good feel for what was happening while I was sprawled out with my heated blanket. Here are my picks for best dressed:

Emma Roberts Lanvin

Emma Roberts is to die for in this Lanvin gown. It’s so simple and shows how much she’s matured over the years. Some of her older counterparts should take a lesson in fashion and composure.

kate beckinsale Zuhair Murad

At first I thought Kate Beckinsale was wearing some sort of futuristic lamé gown. Upon closer review, i.e., google imaging, I realized that Zuhair Murad was right on point with this piece. It flatters every one of Kate’s amazing curves, and the dark charcoal color allows it to stand out without being in your face.

Jennfier dior

I don’t care what people say, I thought Jennifer Lawrence ROCKED it in her Dior gown. If you can appreciate true, high-end fashion, then you can appreciate this structured piece. Paired with her new, edgy pixie cut and bold lip, JLaw looks better than ever.

Lupita Nyong'o Ralph

Hi Lupita Nyong’o, you’re fabulous and I’m obsessed with you. While she walked away without the award for Best Supporting Actress, she was still part of the Best Drama Award winning, “12 Years A Slave,” and was named the style star of the season in her Ralph Lauren Cape. Personally, I think they should have just brought her up on stage so everyone could look at her.

Olivia Gucci

Just because you’re pregnant doesn’t mean you have to look like a hot mess. A lot of stars dressed up their baby bump fabulously on the red carpet this year, but Olivia Wilde did the best job. Her choice of a curve hugging, sequined Gucci gown shows off her amazing body and adorable baby bump. The color also goes great with her ombre hair and fair skin. A win for the pregnant ladies out there!

My absolute favorite, favorite, FAVORITE outfit of the night was worn by non other then Emma Watson.

Emma W Dior

At first it’s just a simple Dior gown with a high slit, then wait, what’s that? OH IT’S ACTUALLY A TOP?! Yeah. That happened. When I saw the back of this amazingness, my mouth dropped. A gown/shirt? Has it ever happened before? It has now, and I loved every second of it.

Unfortunately, not everyone dressed their best at the GG this year…

aubrey Plaza oscar de la renta

I’m not sure what Aubrey Plaza or Oscar De La Renta were thinking about when they saw this gown, but whatever it was, it was wrong. It looks like something you would wear on Easter. Well, it looks like something your mom would buy for you to wear on Easter, but you would refuse.

dianne wiest

Honestly, if Dianne Wiest pulled her straps up onto her shoulders, this wouldn’t be so bad. But she didn’t. So it is.

Reese Calvin

This one isn’t so bad either, but it’s also far from great. Reese Witherspoon is so gorgeous and could probably pull anything off, but instead, she chose this dull Calvin Klein dress. It looks like a mixture of a prom dress and…another prom dress. It just does nothing for her, thus does nothing for me.

Paula Patton Stephanie Rolland

There was a lot going on on Paula Patton’s body on Sunday. The Stephanie Rolland gown, fabric waterfall, peeking shoes and huge earrings just don’t go together. The fabric waterfall goes with nothing. Nothing.

So that’s it for the 2014 Golden Globes. There were plenty of other fabulous and horrendous outfits that you can see at E! online or Huffpost Style.

Comment here!

