PSA: I Still Love Miley

I know what you’re thinking. “How could this bitch still like Miley after that performance last night at the VMAs?” I thought the same thing after I saw it.  My eyes burned for a good 5 minutes after it was over, while my stomach twisted and turned inside. It took up until JT’s amazingness for me to forget what happened. Then all was erased from my memory.

But still, why does my love still run deep? Well, I’ll tell you (duh). I’m sure you all remember Britney Spears’s performance at the 2000 VMAs?

She ripped off her suit to reveal a nude cropped top and see-through bottoms with a thong-esque cover, had half naked men dance around her, all while she moved, shook and touched herself provocatively. It was super hot and it took her career to another level. She was 19 when she performed this. This barely-legal girl who used to jump around with the kids of the Mickey Mouse Club, quickly became even more talked about than she ever had been before. It was PR and marketing genius.  While Brit Brit has does some crazier, less appealing things since, we all still love her. She made out with madonna on stage, married someone who wore Ed Hardy, shaved her head AND walked around barefoot at a gas station, and she was still able to bring it all back. Hello classic coming-of-age story.

Any of this sound familiar? Wait, wasn’t Miley on the Disney channel as a kid? Didn’t she used to be super cute and innocent? Wasn’t she also like 14 years old? Well now she’s 20. While that doesn’t seem old at all, it’s the coming of age time for young pop stars. Over the past year or so, Miley clearly went through a big change in her life that included a whole new wardrobe and hair style. But, I’m pretty sure I changed my wardrobe at least 10 times between the ages of 18 and now (it’s still changing). Sure no one documents my changes (they totally should), but it happens to every girl. So she cut her hair short? Get off the girl’s back (pun TOTALLY intended). I loved her new look and I was all about her stepping away from her “little girl” look and doing what she wanted. She can’t be Hannah Montana forever people!

Only God can judge us. Forget the haters, ’cause somebody loves ya

Then her newest music video, “We Can’t Stop” came out and shit hit the fan. It was a little “out there,” I’ll admit, but again, I loved it. That song is my JAM and I’m not ashamed to admit that I play it on repeat as I get ready to go out (and in the shower, and maybe whenever I drive). Whatever. Miley is my bitch. So you can imagine how excited I was when I heard she would be performing at the VMAs, which is what this post is actually about.

**So the video was taken down, and all the other ones on YouTube suck. So click This Link to go to the MTV page that has the video!

Ok. Ok…..Ok. I know. It’s not great. It actually hurts even more to watch a second time, but you know what? I’ll probably watch it a third time and maybe it will hurt a little less. Who knows? Regardless, people were less than amused with this performance (you can obviously see from the reactions of Rihanna, Drake and all of 1D). Miley tweeted that her performance had 306,000 tweets per minute, which was more than the Superbowl. Whether they were good or bad, 306,000 per minute is a shit-ton (I contributed 4 of them). Everyone talked about it, everyone is STILL talking about it, and people will most likely still be talking about it for the rest of the year. This will probably result in higher record sales for her newest album, Bangerz, that is supposed to hit stores in October.

Moral of the story, we all do dumb shit. Sometimes this dumb shit makes people hate us, but good gossip or bad gossip, people are still talking about you. No press is bad press and Miley is still a badass bitch who does what she wants to and doesn’t give a damn about what others think. She’s just being Miley.

You go Miley- DON’T STOP

One thought on “PSA: I Still Love Miley

Comment here!

