Top 3

3. Blogging (I didn’t forget about you)

OH HEY THERE! First let me apologize (to all of my like, 5 followers) for forgetting about this blog. Life has been a little hectic this past month: I went on vacation to PR (so fabulous), I was very busy at work, and, um, I took a LOT of naps.  I honestly don’t have any good excuses, except for the fact that I’m a little lazy sometimes (always), but I’m working on it! I also need to make my life more exciting so I can have something to write without you (again, the 5 of you) thinking that I’m a complete loser, as opposed to just a regular loser.  I’ve said this before, but I’ll say it again, I WILL try to post more and make things more interesting. I will also tell you this: I tried to have someone (my stepdad-who is reading this) take some photos of me in a fab outfit that I was wearing, thinking I could have a little of my own fashion here…yeah it just didn’t work. Had I, say, my own photographer, then maybe things would have worked out (also if I had ANY modeling skills), alas you won’t be seeing any of my outfits that would prompt a two-syllable damn (probably from myself…).

(Just like Lily’s dress on “How I Met Your Mother,” duh)

2. Puzzling 
Saying that my memory is bad is an extreme understatement, e.g. saying that Beyonce is a mediocre performer. I will actually forget what I am talking about mid-sentence. It’s baffling and people tend to think that I’m just not paying attention or even listening to them. While sometimes that is the case, there are times where I really just don’t remember. To combat this I constantly carry around a notepad just to write things down. The point of this pity-party is to tell you that my mother suggested I try different ways to challenge my brain in order to strengthen my memory.  Since I’m too cheap to pay for Luminosity.com, I decided I would try old school puzzles.

While in Target or AC Moore or some shit, I took a look at my options and realized that I had no idea how big a 500 or 1000 piece puzzle was. I decided “go big or go home” and went with 1000 piece.  Let me just tell you: that’s a BIG ASS puzzle! Of course I chose one of Cinque Terre, Italy, aka 100 of the same color houses on a cliff that is surrounded by water, which is basically all the same color. It’s just great.  Even with the help of my stepfather, I can’t help but get extremely frustrated. I actually started to have minor panic attacks while working on it. I wouldn’t come to the dinner table, I went to bed at 1am and still continued to think about it until about 2am. I guess my perfectionist ways don’t really help when doing a puzzle. Hopefully it helps with my memory, because if not, this will go down as a terrible, terrible time in my life. With all of this, just remember: 1000 pieces is a shit ton of extremely tiny pieces, and at all costs, avoid puzzles with water or similar-colored everything.

1. Summer**
Thank Yeezus that the summer heat is finally here (as I look out the window, only to see it pouring rain).  While it has been a tad rainy these past few weeks, the afternoons have been fabulous! I’m big on laying out, so I’m very proud of my bronzed-goddess-ness right about now.  I DO use sunscreen; I’m not promoting tanning for hours at a time (although I used to be guilty of it).**  After traveling to Australia where the sun is deadly (literally-skin cancer is the number 1 killer), I learned the importance of sunscreen, even when it’s overcast.  All in all, I love a good tan because it makes me look less ghost-like and sickly. It also makes it kind of, a teensy, tiny bit make it look like I have abs (which I most DEFINITELY do not).

You should NEVER use a tanning bed to achieve your golden glow. I used to frequent the tanning salon like it was second home, and I was unfazed by the constant warnings I heard on the news. I eventually came to my senses and realized how dangerous these UVA and UVB rays are. Indoor tanning increases your risk of getting skin cancer by 75%. No glow is worth all of that damage!

Have fair skin or want an out-of-the-sun fix? Try a spray tan (I’ve heard great things) or a tanning lotion like Jergens Natural Glow . They have a bunch of other great products on the web to help you achieve the perfect glow for your skin type! But hey, if you can rock the fair-skin look, YOU GO! I wish that I could, but seriously, I look like I’m dying.

**Note: I used the picture of “Tan Mom” out of humor. I find what she “allegedly” did (taking her five-year-old into a tanning salon) to be extremely horrible and disturbing.  I am not trying to promote unhealthy tanning of skin, as I know the extreme dangers of skin cancer. I do my best to protect my skin, and I suggest you do too. SPF 30+ is the greatest protection and should be reapplied ever 2 hours (every 30 minutes if you’re active). Please be safe in the sun and remember that your skin will be thanking you when you’re older and your skin doesn’t look like an old leather couch!

Comment here!

