The Perks of Being a Wallflower

This is the type of book where you bargin with yourself to allow just 5 more minutes or, okay, just 2 more sections.

This is the type of book where after putting it down in order to enter back into reality, you silently beg for someone to bring it up just so you can talk about it.

This is not the type of book that you can read whist engaging in other activities, trying to multitask.

This book deserves your undivided attention.

This book is infinite.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower

I can even begin to explain what this book means to me.  Less than 24 hours ago, I was a completely (well, kind of) a different person.  Now I’m sitting in my living room feeling completely new things and not knowing how to even collect all of my thoughts.

When I saw that this book was turned into a movie, i remembered how it was a piece that I kept meaning to read, but could never find the time.  I told myself that I wouldn’t see the movie until I read the book, and although I know that there is no way that the movie can even come close to the book, I still want to see it (also, I’m in lust with Ezra Miller).

This book can truly relate to just about anyone.  Chbosky’s writing is so vivid and real, so you feel like you are really talking to the main character, Charlie.  When he gets side tracked, you get sidetracked.  You feel his pain, his joy, his awkwardness, and even his depression. Most importantly, you feel attached to all of the characters.  It felt as if everything that was going on in their lives, was simultaneously happening in mine, and to my friends (yes, they are now my make-believe friends).

I know this is weird and crazy, but it depicts exactly how I’m feeling right now: weird and crazy.  I can say that this is quite possibly my favorite book, bumping Love in the Time of Cholera and The Sun Also Rises down to number 2 and 3.  Either way, it’s definitely top 5.

So, this is my life. And I want you to know that I am both happy and sad and I’m still trying to figure out how that could be.

Comment here!

