Now Playing: 90’s

via Vh1.com

90’s Jams

I’m a baby of the 90’s, which means I grew up listening to some pretty sick tracks and artists.  I’m a lover of all decades of music, but sometimes the 90’s grunge/alternative rock scene just puts a smile on my face.  I recently found myself addicted to these songs all at once while making the three hour trek back home from DC. I figured I needed to give myself a break after listening to #Lana all weekend, and I switched to the Pandora App on my phone.  Semi Charmed Life (by Third Eye Blind) Playlist killed it.  Playing all your greatest angsty, alternative rock songs of the 90’s and resulting in the best jam session ever (even if I was alone).  Here are some of the highlights:

Closing Time by Semisonic

If you’ve ever been to a college bar, you’ve definitely heard this song playing at 2AM as the lights slowly come on and the crowd joins together in a singalong.  Then, as the song goes, everyone begins to frantically look around to find someone to end their night with.  It’s an all time classic, and I would be lying if I said that I didn’t join in by shouting the lyrics at the top of my lungs.

One Week by Barenaked Ladies

Ok, this is by far my favorite 90’s songs.  This 1999 Grammy nominated track has won the hearts of millions and definitely one of those songs where you made up all of the lyrics as a kid because you had absolutely no idea what they were saying, aside from the infamous line,

Chickity China the Chinese chicken
You have a drumstick and your brain stops tickin’

I actually read through the lyrics when I got home from my trip, and I couldn’t help myself from laughing at my mistaken words as a kid.  There is only one way to sum up this song

Like Snickers, guaranteed to satisfy

Can’t Stop by Red Hot Chili Peppers

Although this song wasn’t released until 2002, I still consider RHCP to be one of the great bands of the 90’s, so I’m including this song.  If you ever questioned John Frusciante’s skills on the guitar, this song would be the one to make you realize how wrong you were.  His fingers are magical and radiate pure beauty.  That may sound extreme, but I am not one to take RHCP lightly.  They have been a favorite of mine since I was young and angsty myself.  Kedis will always be a God to me, his lyrics something to live by.  Ok, maybe not all of them, but he has a way with words that keeps me playing his tracks on repeat.  My favorite line from the song is the truest of them all:

Music, the great communicator

RHCP knows what’s up.

Comment here!

