Now Playing: Lana Del Rey

Lana Del Rey

For those of you who know me, you’re most likely used to me tweeting lyrics from all of Lana’s songs.  I have a mild obsession.  Her voice is intoxicating, as well as the beat.  Her lastest album Born to Die that came out earlier this year has sold over 2 million copies and was number 1 in 11 countries.  Her self-proclaimed “gangsta Nancy Sinatra” style is edgy and fun and goes well with her crassness.  However, what I and many other listeners love most, are her dark lyrics.

Come and take a walk on the wild side
Let me kiss you hard in the pouring rain
You like your girls insane
Choose your last words
This is the last time
Cause you and I, we were born to die

From her debut video, Born to Die, Del Rey sings of crazed love, that ends inevitably, Thelma and Louise style.

It’s hard to say what my favorite song of Lana’s is, but if forced, I would say Blue Jeans, which has some vivid and intense lyrics, and of course a sick beat.

Blue Jeans

Blue jeans, white shirt
Walked into the room you know you made my eyes burn
It was like, James Dean, for sure
You’re so fresh to death and sick as ca-cancer

Del Rey’s voice in this track is ominous and haunting, and gives deeper meaning to her lost and pained words.

Lana is a bad bitch and will always have a place on my iPod and for now, will continue to be played on repeat during my 30 minute commute to work every morning.

2 thoughts on “Now Playing: Lana Del Rey

  1. Pingback: Now Playing: A$AP Rocky | two X seven

  2. Pingback: Now Playing: Foster The People | two X seven

Comment here!

