Top 3

Lipstick, Blush, Eyeliner, MAC; Mineral Powder, Brushes, Bare Essentials; Mascara, Benefit, Lip Stain, Revlon;

3. New Makeup 

I’m not one who is up-to-date on makeup trends.  Some may call me “beauty-challenged,” actually, some do.  You know something is a big deal when I go out of my way to just put mascara on.  Mind you, Benefit’s They’re Real Mascara is too fabulous for words.  As of late, I have been experimenting with different products and trying to be, well, more of a female.  I have developed a liking for all Mac products, especially the Mineralize Blush in Warm Soul and my risque purchase of the Amplified Creme Lipstick in Morange (a crazy bright orange-red).  I wish I could wear all of my new products at once (like when you want to wear all of your new clothes), but I really don’t want to scare people, so I’ll just pace myself and ease into my new makeup routine.

2. Catching up on World News

I’ve recently made the choice to put good use to my 30 minute commute to and from work.  Starting last Thursday, I started listening to CNN, MSNBC and The Bloomberg Report on SIRIUS radio, switching between the three during commercials.  I made this decision because, unlike many of the political science and international service majors from my University, I’m not really up to date on politics, or news in general.  I always found it so boring and pointless, but in the months since I’ve graduated college, I’ve realized that my life is no longer filled with sorority gossip, and what better to replace that with than the news!  My thoughts exactly.  Surprisingly enough, I’ve found that I’ve started to enjoy my daily commutes more, now that I’m learning something.  Also, I can now understand conversations people have about what is going on in the world without simply smiling and nodding and feeling inadequate.  How do you make the best of your commute?

And finally…

via dailycandy.com

1. 3-Day Weekend

I think the best part about three day weekends is when you didn’t realize that one was coming up until just a few days before.  Just the thought alone alleviates so much stress.  But Labor Day isn’t just about getting off of work (although it’s a huge benefit) or to be used as an excuse to get intoxicated at barbecues all weekend (also, a huge benefit).  While that’s all good and fun, Labor Day is really meant to celebrate and pay tribute to the American workers.  I’d be lying if I said that every year I take the time to thank those around me who work hard at their jobs instead of going to friend’s barbecues and having a good time.  However, this year it has come to my attention that my own father is one of these American workers.  He has been working in the construction industry for over 20 years, following his late father, whom was in the business for roughly 50 years.  My father built the first house that I lived in, and most recently rebuilt his childhood home, where he resides today.  He taught me how to be grounded, which is a characteristic that I pride myself on to this day.  So this Labor Day, I will be celebrating my father and late grandfather and all of their hard work over the years, while of course sipping on a cocktail.

And don’t forget, Labor Day also signifies the start of the NFL and college football seasons!

Comment here!

