Work Attire

As the kids (ie. people the same age as me) went off to their first day of classes showing off their new threads from back-to-school shopping, I was off to my second week at my new job, donning my own pieces from my back-to-work shopping adventure.  This “spree” wasn’t spent scouring the racks of topshop or urban outfitters for some distressed shorts or crop tops; however I instead found myself scanning the racks of dress slacks and silk blouses in Banana Republic and Ann Taylor Loft.  Much different than my usual shopping experience, but nonetheless it was still shopping, which is one of my favorite pastimes.

Pants, Banana Republic; Top, Ann Taylor Loft; Cami, Target; Watch, Michael Kors; Wrap Bracelet, J. Crew

My favorite find of the day happened just as we were about to leave the mall, when I grabbed my mom and dragged her into Banana Republic.  It was there that I found the pants of my dreams.  They are sleek, form fitting, and best of all, stretchy!  The Sloan Fit slim ankle pant hugs every curve and hits just above the ankle.  In the store they only had three or four colors, of which I chose Brown Slate (pictured) and Cinnamon.  When I looked online, I saw many more, so it looks like I’m going to have to do some online shopping (Navy and Burgundy are next on my list).  With the extreme stretch of these pants, you could most likely run a marathon in them, but that also means that you should maybe go a size down to ensure they still fit after the stretch.  I can’t tell you how many times I’ve bought stretchier pants in my size, and by the end of the day they were falling off.

Shoes, Sam Edelman (2009)

The best part about a tapered leg is that it works with almost any shoe.  Since the office I worked in today is a little lower key than the other office (yes, I have two jobs…actually three), I chose to wear my red Sam Edelman Delancey pointed flats, to give the outfit a little pop.  Next time these pants come out of my closet, I’m thinking either my sensible, black Calvin Klein heels, or go all out and throw on my sky high, cobalt blue Steven Madden platforms (outside of the office, of course).

Eyeliner, Mac; Blush, Mac; Mascara, Benefit; Lip Stain, Revlon.

Since my outfit was so simple and chic, I thought that I should complete my outfit with a trendy top-bun.  Sometimes I have a lot of difficulty with these, as I am a bigger fan of the messy bun and not so much the sleek pulled-back version.  For this I just tied my hair up in a high pony and then twisted the tail around the top until it created a simple ballerina bun and stuck a twisted bobby pin in to hold.  I pulled out some strays to keep it casual and fun, and pinned up any major bumps (mostly in the back).  As for my makeup, I also kept it simple and natural looking with brown eyeliner, one swipe of mascara, a bronze-blush combo and a nude lip stain.  Simple and understated is always best for the office.

Recap: A high bun is great for the office and can easily take you straight into happy hour; less is always more when it comes to makeup; slim, tapered pants will always be your friend, no matter what your size.  Agree?  Are you a die hard fan of the bootcut or flare leg?  Tell me about it.  You may be able to persuade me into changing my ways!

Comment here!

