Tonight You’re Mine

Tonight you’re Mine (2011): Featuring Luke Treadaway & Natalia Pena

When I first saw this film cover in the list of New Releases on Demand, I didn’t think much of it, as I had never heard of it.  After I saw that it only received 2.5 stars, I quickly dismissed it.  However, I find myself now, a week later, in the last few scenes not thinking that I wasted the past 80 minutes of my life.  I actually enjoyed it.  I wouldn’t give it 5 stars, but I also wouldn’t give it just 2.5.

It starts off at Scotland’s largest outdoor music festival, T in the Park.  Among all the chaos, a two-man group consisting of one of the main characters, Treadaway happens to bump into a girl band, which includes his costar Pena.  The two begin fighting over something that is still a mystery to me, and a crazed festival staff member handcuffs them together in order to “solve” their issues.

It goes on how you would assume: they both have significant others whom are less than pleased with the circumstances.  They all end up enjoying drinks and music together, blah blah blah and the two attached adults…surprise surprise, end up making out and staring in an adorable shower scene.  While I sound as though I am mocking the film (I am a little bit), I have to admit that I love this kind of stuff.  I absolutely hate the idea of it, but deep, DEEP down where my feelings are expected to be hiding, I can’t help but smile.  I’ve come to terms that I will never have a happy ending, but that doesn’t mean that I can’t enjoy watching someone else have one, even if it is fictional.

My one criticism, besides the obvious predictability, was that the trailer literally summarized the entire movie.  I honestly didn’t even have to watch it to know what happened.  I hate when trailers are like that, or they just happen to show every single funny part of the movie, and then the actual film isn’t funny any more.  It’s really a flaw of the film industry.  Pity.

Overall, I think the movie was fun, engaging and had some great music.  It’s not often that you find a film with a soundtrack that doesn’t include all top 40 songs.  I definitely say you should check it out, especially if you’re into music festivals and great music.

Rating: 3.75 stars

Comment here!

